The Cabinet Secretary Ministry of Education Hon. Ezekiel Machogu has today inaugurated the new TVET Authority Board of Directors.

Speaking during the ceremony at the Authority’s offices at Utalii House, the Cabinet Secretary congratulated the new members of the Board and challenged them to achieve their oversight mandate with zeal and commitment to shaping the TVET sector to higher heights.

The Cabinet Secretary said that the TVET sector is critical to the Kenya Kwanza development agenda and asked the Directors to understand their new mandate and focus on addressing the challenges currently facing the sector.

He particularly advised the Board to embark on ensuring that the TVET trainers are properly trained to offer practical training and implement the CBET curriculum before they are posted to institutions.

The CS also challenged the Board to ensure TVET institutions are having linkages and have inculcated dual training with the industry so that trainees can get practical orientation and workplace experience.

He assured the Board that his ministry will support the Authority in realizing its mandate of regulating and coordinating the sector in line with the government development agenda.

The Chairperson of TVETA Board of Directors Prof. Florence Indede thanked the Cabinet Secretary for gracing the inauguration ceremony and supporting the Authority to meet its mandate.

She assured the CS that the Board is up to the task and will come up with progressive policies and ensure that management implements them to the letter.

“Our mandate is to oversight and mobilize resources for the Authority so that management can implement its activities in the work plan,” Prof. Indede said.

The chairperson also acknowledged the impressive work done by the outgoing Directors whose term came to an end last year.

TVETA Director General Dr. Kipkirui Langat highlighted some of the achievements the Authority has realized, including licensing over 2,400 public and private institutions, registering of over 6,500 trainers, opening three regional offices, automating all systems and services, developing 10 regulatory standards, among other accomplishments.

The DG informed the CS that the Authority has developed its second Strategic Plan 2023-2027. The strategic plan will be launched together with the Authority’s 10th Anniversary in June.

The new five members include Mr. Hassan Sumba, Dr. Keter Julius Kipkogei, Eng. Dr Edward Odhong, Mrs. Njambi Muchane, and Mr Benson Kinyua Muriithi (representing PS TVET). Others are the Board Chairperson Prof. Florence Indede, Dr Esther Gacicio, and Ms Winnie Mwalimu (representing PS Treasury).